Rugby-La Rochelle, Toulouse dominate European Player of the Year shortlist

- Champions Cup finalists Toulouse and La Rochelle have dominated the five-man shortlist for the European Player of the Year award, European Professional Club Rugby (EPCR) said on Tuesday.

Four-time Champions Cup winners Toulouse were represented by captain Julien Marchand, France scrumhalf Antoine Dupont and former All Black and two-time World Cup winner Jerome Kaino.

Toulouse qualified for the Twickenham showpiece with a 21-9 victory against Bordeaux Begles on Saturday.

La Rochelle's Gregory Alldritt and Will Skelton were also on the list, both having made try-scoring contributions Sunday's 32-23 semi-final win over Leinster.

The winner of the award - the Anthony Foley Memorial Trophy - will be announced following the Champions Cup final on May 22.


Gregory Alldritt (La Rochelle)

Antoine Dupont (Toulouse)

Jerome Kaino (Toulouse)

Julien Marchand (Toulouse)

Will Skelton (La Rochelle)

(Reporting by Hardik Vyas in Bengaluru; Editing by Christian Radnedge)

Bywire will email you from time to time with news digests, stories & opportunities to get involved. Privacy